Raymond J. Carroll Young Investigator Award

The Raymond J. Carroll Young Investigator Award was established to honor Dr. Raymond J. Carroll, Jill and Stuart A. Harlin ’83 Chair in Statistics, Distinguished Professor of Statistics, Nutrition and Toxicology, for his fundamental contributions in many areas of statistical methodology and practice, such as measurement error models, nonparametric and semiparametric regression, nutritional and genetic epidemiology. Carroll has been instrumental in mentoring and helping young researchers, including his own students and post-doctoral trainees, as well as others in the statistical community.

Dr. Carroll is highly regarded as one of the world’s foremost experts on problems of measurement error, functional data analysis, semiparametric methods and more generally on statistical regression modeling. His work, characterized by a combination of deep theoretical effort, innovative methodological development and close contact with science, has impacted a broad variety of fields, including marine biology, laboratory assay methods, econometrics, epidemiology and molecular biology.

In 2005, Raymond Carroll became the first statistician ever to receive the prestigious National Cancer Institute Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award for his pioneering efforts in nutritional epidemiology and biology and the resulting advances in human health. Less than five percent of all National Institutes of Health-funded investigators merit selection for the highly selective award, which includes up to 10 years of grant support.

The Carroll Young Investigator Award is awarded biennially on odd numbered years to a statistician who has made important contributions to the area of statistics.


2019 Carroll Young Investigator Award – Call for Nominations


Past recipients include:

2009 – Inaugural Recipient, Dr. S.C. Samuel Kou, Harvard University

2011 – Dr. Marc A. Suchard, University of California-Los Angeles

2013 – Dr. Tyler J. VanderWeele, Harvard University, School of Public Health

2015 – Dr. Daniela M. Witten, University of Washington

2017 – Dr. Eric B. Laber, North Carolina State University

2023 –  Dr. Rina Barber, University of Chicago

2024- Dr. Alexander R. Luedtke