2023 H.O. Hartley Award Recipient Dr. Eun Sug Park

The Department of Statistics at Texas A&M takes great pleasure announcing that Dr. Eun Sug Park is the recipient of the 2023 H.O. Hartley Award. Dr. Park is known for her research on the statistics of traffic safety, for her research on the impact of public transportation on reducing air pollution, and for her book on traffic simulation. Dr. Park completed her Ph.D. at the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M in 1997, under the supervision of Dr. Clifford H. Spiegelman. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the University Washington until 2001 and has since been a Senior Research Scientist at the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI).

Since joining TTI in 2001, Dr. Park has taken the lead in modeling and data analysis for many transportation research studies. These include developing innovative statistical techniques to analyze safety evaluations of various countermeasures, to model crash counts, to study severity data, and to manage quality control of large transportation databases. She also has led air pollution research projects to develop statistical methods for assessing health effects associated with multiple air pollutants and to estimate traffic-related air pollution. In addition, she has developed novel methods to estimate associations between ambient pollutants and cognitive decline.

In recognition of her outstanding and highly relevant work, Dr. Park has been awarded multiple grants from various funding agencies in Texas and at the national level. Currently, she is a Co-PI on a Federal Highway Administration project for developing crash modification factors along with uncertainty estimates for pedestrians, left turn lanes, curves, and roadway departure safety improvements. She is also a PI for a National Institutes of Health study to evaluate the impact of source-specific multi-pollutant exposures and the neighborhood context on disparities in stillbirth.

Dr. Park has authored or co-authored over 150 refereed journal papers as well as a highly cited transportation statistics textbook titled *Transportation Statistics and Microsimulation*. She was the recipient of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Pedestrian Committee Outstanding Paper awards in 2006 and 2009, the TTI/Trinity Researcher Award in 2010, and is the winner of the 2010 Patricia F. Waller Award (TRB), the 2011 D. Grant Mickle Award (TRB), the 2019 TRB Paratransit Committee Best Paper Award, and the 2021 TRB Safety Methods Committee Best Paper Award. According to Google scholar, she has over 3200 citations.

Dr. Park is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association, an Elected Member of the International Statistical Institute, a Member of the TRB Statistical Methods Committee, and Statistics Editor for the journal *Chemometrics and Intelligent Laboratory Systems*.