Teaching Excellence Award

Teaching Excellence Award


The Department of Statistics Teaching Excellence Award is presented annually to faculty who have demonstrated outstanding efforts in teaching or curriculum development.

The Guidelines for the selection of the Teaching Excellence Award are as follows:

  1. Eligible faculty
    a. have at least three years of continuous service as a full-time faculty in the Department of Statistics,
    b. have taught at least two terms in the past year, and
    c. have not received this award in the previous three years.
  2. Nominations must be received by the last business day of January.
  3. There will be two awards given per year.
  4. The Teaching Excellence Committee will meet after January 31 to review and evaluate nominated candidates for the Department of Statistics Teaching Excellence Award.
  5. The Teaching Excellence Committee may use additional sources for their deliberations (such as teaching evaluations, in-class observations, etc.)
  6. The Associate Department Head for Teaching Excellence will compile a short list and make recommendations to the Department Head prior to March 30.

Award Criteria – Awardees will have demonstrated at least some of the following:

  1. Positive reputation for teaching from the perspectives of students, colleagues, and others.
  2. Concern for students, organization of knowledge for student use, the ability to motivate and fairly critique student effort.
  3. Evidence of sustained commitment to teaching and enthusiasm for the taught subject.
  4. Curriculum development, up-to-date scholarship / creative work, and awareness of recent developments in the statistics or data science field.
  5. Use of novel technology and instructional strategies to enhance students’ learning experiences.
  6. The ability to integrate professional development into teaching.
  7. Commitment to the Department of Statistics teaching community and efforts beyond that.
  8. Outstanding student or peer evaluation.
  9. Outstanding efforts for outreach and mentorship.
    Awardees will receive a certificate and $500.

To submit a nomination, use this submission form.

Award Recipients

2024 (Inaugural Recipients)

  • Abhishek Chakrabortty
  • Mohamed Aburweis